Complete Guide to the 2023 Cal Ripken Major/70 World Series

Ohio Valley beat Taiwan 2-1 to win the 2023 Cal Ripken Major 70 World Series at Ballparks of America.

[Updated August 15 with 2023 champion.]

Since 2003, the Cal Ripken Major/70 World Series has brought together some of the best youth baseball players from all over the world to Ballparks of America in Branson, Missouri.

The Major/70 World Series event has a rich history dating back to 1976. It was first called the Bambino World Series, and the tournament was only open to teams from the U.S. In 2000, the championship was renamed the Cal Ripken Major/70 World Series in honor of the legendary baseball player. 

The Major/70 level is 12U players. Tournament teams are from various countries worldwide and the United States. These teams must go through state and regional tournaments to qualify for the World Series in Branson, where the tournament has been since 2017.

Related: Adopt-A-Team for the 2023 Cal Ripken Major 70 World Series 

How the Tournament Works

The tournament breaks down into several rounds, with teams competing in pool play, elimination play, and, ultimately, the championship game. During pool play, teams are divided into groups and play a round-robin format against the other teams in their group. The top teams from each group then advance to elimination play, competing in single-elimination games until the championship game.

2023 Cal Ripken Major 70/World Series Schedule

Full Schedule and Group Standings

  • August 3: Opening Ceremonies & Home Run Derby
  • August 4-8: Pool Play
  • August 9-10: Bracket Play
  • August 11: U.S. and International Finals
  • August 12: World Championship, 4:30 pm at St. Louis Stadium

2023 Cal Ripken Major 70/World Series U.S. Groups

Group A: Waipahu, HI (Pacific Southwest); Florence, AL (Southwest); Yardley, PA; Chicago, IL; Glen Allen, VA; Branson, MO (Host).

Group B: Lutz, FL (Southeast); Southeast Denver, CO (Midwest Plains); Honolulu, HI; Marlboro, NJ; Bryant, AR (Arkansas); Twin Falls, ID.

Group C: Easton, MA (New England); Southeast Lexington, KY (Ohio Valley); West Fargo, ND; Kennewick, WA; Hot Springs, AR; Cherry Hill, NJ.

Group D: Flood City, PA (Middle Atlantic); Black Hills, WA (Pacific Northwest); Dover, NH; West Raleigh, NC; Boonville, MO (Missouri); Windsor, CA.

2023 Cal Ripken Major 70/World Series International Groups

Group E: Sydney, Australia; San Nicholas, Aruba; Seoul, South Korea; Nuevo Leon, Mexico; Yilan, Taiwan.

Group F: Calgary, Canada; Kansai, Japan; Rotterdam, Netherlands; Guayama, Puerto Rico; San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Historic Cal Ripken Major 70/World Series Champions

  • 2023: Ohio Valley (Lexington, Kentucky) def. Taiwan
  • 2022: Jeffersontown Strike (Kentucky) def. Mexico
  • 2021: Branson (Missouri) def. Puerto Rico
  • 2020: none [COVID-19]
  • 2019: Oahu (Hawai’i)
  • 2018: Glen Allen (Virginia)
  • 2017: Atlantic Beach (Florida)
  • 2016: Kennewick (Washington)
  • 2015: West Raleigh (North Carolina)
  • 2014: West Raleigh (North Carolina)
  • 2013: West Raleigh (North Carolina)
  • 2012: Montgomery (Maryland)
  • 2011: Lexington (Kentucky)
  • 2010: Ocala (Florida)
  • 2009: Forest Hills (Florida)
  • 2008: Jupiter (Florida
  • 2007: Tampa (Florida)

Don’t Miss the Cal Ripken Major 70/World Series at Ballparks of America

Ballparks of America, currently the largest youth sports facility in the USA, hosts the 2023 Cal Ripken Major/70 World Series—showcasing some of the most talented youth athletes worldwide. 

Is your team ready to compete in a world-class stay-and-play tournament? Check out our schedule of tournaments for the summer of 2024, and contact us for more information.


More Posts

Send Us A Message


Stay In The Know

2025 Baseball & Softball Summer Registration Now Open